23 August 2021

NZRL is sad to announce the 2021 New Zealand Rugby League Secondary Schools Tournament scheduled to begin Monday, August 30th in Auckland has been called off due to the current Delta Covid-19 outbreak.

This is following the announcement from School Sport NZ cancelling all sanctioned events through until September 6th. NZRL is working with stakeholders to explore all options; however, under these current conditions, the tournament cannot go ahead.

We understand this is hugely disappointing for everyone involved and apologise for the inconvenience caused; however, safety and wellbeing remain paramount.

We encourage everyone to continue to follow Covid-19 protocol so collectively we can return to the rugby league fields when it is safe to do so again.

We thank all our rugby league communities for their ongoing patience and understanding.

11 March 2021

The New Zealand Rugby League (NZRL) is proud to announce that 2021 will see the much-awaited return of one of our most significant calendar events – the NZRL National Secondary Schools Tournament.

After a two year hiatus, the five-day tournament returns to Auckland’s Pulman Park bigger and better than ever before.

Sixteen schools from across the country will battle it out for the ultimate Secondary Schools Premiership title alongside the Senior Boys Championship and an inaugural Girls Championship involving eight women’s teams for the first time in the competition’s history.

The tournament will commence on Monday 30 August, with the Finals taking place Friday 3 September at Pulman Park.

The competition is a Senior Secondary School Tournament with competing teams entering through their respective Zones / Regional qualifiers. Teams entering the National Secondary Schools Tournament must have a referral from their respective Zone contact.

In conjunction with this tournament and in succession to the inaugural fixture in 2020, New Zealand Rugby League will be selecting a New Zealand Schools (Boys 18s) team to play against New Zealand Clubs (18s) on Sunday 17 October 2021.

National Secondary Schools

Venue – Pulman Park, Auckland
Competition dates: Monday 30 August – Friday 3 September 2021

Senior Boys Premiership
–    16 Premier teams – 2 places per Zone (14),
     plus an additional 2 for Auckland.

Senior Boys Championship
–    8 Championship teams – 1 place per Zone (7),
     plus an additional Auckland School.
–    Composite schools can also qualify for the Championship tier.

Senior Girls Championship
–    8 Women’s teams – 1 place per Zone (7),
     plus an additional Auckland School.
–    Composite schools can also qualify for the Championship tier.

If you would like to receive more information, please register your interest here: