It’ll be a Kelston Boys’ High School v St Paul’s College Premiership National Secondary Schools Final at Pulman Park tomorrow.

Thanks to a 22-6 win over Mt Albert Grammar School today, a repeat result of the Auckland Rugby League College final earlier this year, Kelston will progress to the final where they’ll take on St Paul’s College who overcame Rotorua Boys’ High School 26-10 in their semi-final.

For the past two years, Kelston Boys’ High School have met Southern Cross Campus in the premiership final, where Southern Cross were triumphant on both occasions. However, this year could see a new champion crowned if St Paul’s come out on top.

Although Whangaparaoa College showed promise running in the first four points of the match against Howick College in their Development Grade semi-final, Howick College powered past them to bring home a 26-6 win.

The other Development semi-final brought about the nail-biter of the day with last year’s finalists Onehunga High School pipping Papakura High School, 24-22.

Manukura started the week off with a bang beating defending champions Southern Cross Campus but today found themselves at the mercy of Wesley College, defeated 18-14. Manukura will come up against South Islanders, St Thomas of Canterbury playing off for seventh and eighth while Wesley College will face Manurewa in a bid to finish fifth.

Otahuhu returned to the tournament this year for the first time since their Premiership victory in 2015 blooding new talent – the school Roger Tuivasa-Sheck was playing for when he was first scouted at National Secondary Schools.

At the Awards night held at Mt Smart, Whangarei Boys’ High School picked up one of the most prestigious awards, ‘MIT More than just a game Team of the Tournament’ for their attitude, performance and respect on and off the field.

New Zealand 16s representative and St Paul’s College student, Sione Moala also claimed the Player of the Tournament award following an outstanding week in the halves for his team.

Click here to view the Finals draw for Friday, 7 September

National Secondary Schools Tournament Awards

Match Official of the Year Development Grade – Kevin Ah-Ken

Match Official of the Year Premier Grade – Joseph Green

Trainer of the Tournament – Dallas Courtney (Whangaparaoa College)

Manager of the Tournament – Katie Spraggon (Manurewa High School)

Coach of the Tournament – Dave McDermoott  (St Paul’s College)

MTJAG Team of the Tournament – Whangarei Boys High School

Best Cultural Salute – Manukura

Best & Fairest Development – Shae Grey (Manawatu College)

Player of the Tournament (Premiership) – Sione Moala (St Paul’s College)


New Zealand Secondary Schools Tournament Team

  1. Moala Graham-Taufa – Mt Albert Grammar
  2. Zion Tanielu – Kelston Boys’ High School
  3. Lani Graham-Taufa – Mt Albert Grammar School
  4. Christian Tuipulotu – St Paul’s College
  5. Selestino Ravutaumada – Rotorua Boys’ High School
  6. Kadiyae Ioka – Kelston Boys’ High School
  7. Sione Moala – St Paul’s College
  8. Junior Pua – Manurewa High School
  9. Blade Kamuhemu – St Paul’s College
  10. Caius Fa’atili – St Thomas of Canterbury
  11. Nitoa Kairau – Southern Cross Campus
  12. Elijah Ireriko – Mt Albert Grammar
  13. Tuki Simpkins – Rotorua Boys’ High School
  14. Konrad Tu’ua – Kelston Boys’ High School
  15. Antonio Aufai – St Paul’s College
  16. Eteru Ropeti – Kelston Boys’ High School
  17. Jonah Palota-Kopa – St Paul’s College



Manukura 14 Wesley College 18

Southern Cross Campus 22 Otahuhu College 2

St Paul’s College 26 Rotorua Boys’ High School 10

Whangarei Boys’ High School 4 James Cook High School 22

Kelston Boys’ High School 22 Mt Albert Grammar School 6

Manurewa High School 24 St Thomas of Canterbury 18

Tokoroa High School 6 Westlake Boys’ High School 22


Whangaparaoa College 6 Howick Collee 26

Manawatu College 26 Naenae College 20

Haeata Community Campus 10 Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate 52

Papakura High School 22 Onehunga High School 24