The RLWC2017 Organising Committee have announced that the SKY Sport has secured the New Zealand broadcast rights to this years Womens Rugby League World Cup.

Under the terms of the deal, SKY Sport will broadcast all 12 matches of the tournament culminating in the final on 2 December 2017, where history will be created when both the mens and womens finals are played on the same day, on the same stage.

RLWC2017 Chief Executive Officer, Andrew Hill said: We are delighted to be partnering with SKY Sport in an historic deal that will showcase the Womens Rugby League World Cup across New Zealand.

The agreement to broadcast every match of the tournament across New Zealand on SKY Sport is a significant step forward for Rugby League, providing a wonderful opportunity to demonstrate the skills and competitiveness of the womens game.

The Organising Committee is incredibly proud to be conducting a tournament that has attracted significant investment from both government and commercial partners whilst profiling the players and game like no previous Rugby League event.

This years tournament will be the first time the Womens Rugby League World Cup has been held as a standalone event, with the pool matches to be played at Southern Cross Group Stadium in Sydney as triple-headers on November 16, 19 and 22 with the semi-finals to be played as a double-header on November 26.

SKY Director of Sport, Richard Last said: Were thrilled to have secured this years Womens Rugby League World Cup for SKY Sport subscribers. Since the 2016 womens ANZAC Test featuring the Kiwi Ferns against the Jillaroos, weve seen a 26% increase in our viewership of womens Rugby League. Theres clearly a very real appetite, and we cant wait for the tournament to kick-off!

Female participation is one of the fastest growing areas of the sport. To be able to broadcast the Womens Rugby League World Cup across multiple international markets will not only promote womens Rugby League to a wider audience than ever before, but inspire further growth of the game from grassroots to the elite level, concluded Hill.

The Rugby League International Federation confirmed that Australia, Canada, Cook Islands, England, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea will be the six teams to contest the Womens Rugby League World Cup 2017.

[table id=1 /]