6 September 2022

The NZRL National Men’s Premiership returns after a year hiatus. Due to covid implications, the Men’s Premiership in 2021 was cancelled, and the NZRL National Competition was formed, with Upper Central Zone defeating Canterbury in the final. In 2022, with all teams available to compete, the NZRL Men’s Premiership will resume its place, with old rivals Akarana and Counties Manukau kicking off the competition.

After being unable to participate in 2021, Akarana will seek to reclaim their premiership title as they face their arch-rivals, the Stingrays.

Saturday’s action kicks off at 11:00 am at Mt Smart as the Asian Dragons face Niue Rugby League in a curtain raiser for the Men’s Premiership. The Asian Dragons are a part of Counties Manukau Rugby League’s (CMRL) Ethnic Rugby League (ERL), which will be a big test against a solid Niuean outfit.

Competition giants Counties Manukau and Akarana follow as they take the field at 01:05 pm to get their tournaments underway.

Sunday sees Canterbury play host to Waikato Mana at Christchurch’s Nga Puna Wai. In a contest between two of the competition underdogs, both teams will look to start strong and create momentum heading into the later stages of the competition. Kick-off is at 01:05 pm.

Watch all the action live on Sky Sport!

Saturday 10th September 

Asian Dragons vs Niue Rugby League – 11:00am Mt Smart Field 2, Auckland.

Akarana vs Counties Manukau – 01:05pm Mt Smart Field 2, Auckland.

Sunday 11th September

Canterbury vs Waikato Mana – 12:05pm Nga Puna Wai, Christchurch.