The Canterbury Bulls’ dominance continues in round two of the National Premiership Competition, coming away with a 46 – 6 victory over a spirited Waikato team.

Canterbury fullback, Jordan Coleman, opened the match scoring the first try of the day, set up after an offload from the number seven Brad Campbell. Within minutes the Canterbury halves ignited the attack to set up for another try, this time from the co-captain Tevin Arona, setting the tone for the rest of the match.

Wounded from their defeat last week against Canterbury, the Akarana Falcons came out firing at Pulman Park for game two.

Save my Bacon player of the month Eiden Ackland opened the scoring for Akarana for the second consecutive week which was soon followed by a barrage of tries from the impressive Akarana team.

Counties Manukau surged back in the second half scoring early but fell short in the end, ultimately leaving Akarana to take the win over Counties Manukau 30 – 18.

Counties Manukau is set to face Canterbury next week in Christchurch while Akarana takes on Waikato in Hamilton for the final round of the National Premiership Competition.

Congratulations also to the Wellington Orcas who pipped the Northern Swords in the last minute to take out the North Island Championship 28 – 24. Wellington will take on the South Island Championship winners, Otago Whalers, in a curtain-raiser match ahead of the 2019 NZRL Provincial Premiership Final on Saturday, October 5th.

At a glance:

Counties Manukau Stingrays 18  Akarana Falcons 30

Canterbury Bulls 46  Waikato 6

Click here to keep up with the Premiership draw and all results.

Click to here to keep up with the North Island Championship results


Round 3 NZRL National Premiership | Saturday 28 – Sunday 29 September 

Waikato v Akarana Falcons – 1pm, FMG Stadium, Hamilton

Canterbury Bulls v Counties Manukau Stingrays – 1pm, Nga Puna Wai Stadium, Christchurch

All NZRL Premiership matches will be televised on SKY Sport.