New Zealand Rugby League is pleased to announce two new director appointments have been made in Natasha Tere (Elected) and Paula Kearns (Appointed).

Tere boasts over 15 years of strategic and operational management experience and is passionate about sports administration.

Tere was on the Board of Canterbury Netball for eight years and Chairperson of the Canterbury Tactix. She brings a knowledge of Rugby league at a grassroots level and is driven to improve stakeholder engagement and cultural and social diversity.

Kearns also has notable governance experience including her current positions as an External Member of the Audit and Risk Committee Ministry for the Environment and Director and Chair of AFRC of Mount Wellington Trust Hotels Ltd and Keri Corporation Ltd.  Additionally, she held previous positions with Ara Taiohi, NZ Football and Foundation North (previously ASB Community Trust).

NZRL Chair, Reon Edwards says, “We were very fortunate to receive a number of applications from quality people involved in business as well as the sport of rugby league. Both Natasha and Paula were stand out applicants who bring welcomed diversity and a vast range of skill sets to the table. They are an exciting addition to our Board.”

New Zealand Rugby League wishes to thank Vice-Chair Elizabeth Richards and Bill McEntee who have both retired from their roles as Board Directors.

NZRL also congratulate Reon Edwards on being re-elected as Chairman and Hugh Martin for being appointed as Vice Chairman.

The 2020 AGM also saw rugby league legend; Frank Morris Endacott ONZM awarded an NZRL Life Membership for his services to the game which spans six decades.

NZRL also wish to congratulate the following 2020 Distinguished Service Awards Recipients: John Peter Brimble, John Gary Clarke, Bill Liddell, Stanley Nicholas and Gary Whittle.

For more information about the recipients please click here.

The NZRL Board – Reon Edwards (Chair), Hugh Martyn (Vice), Tawera Nikau, Andrew Fraser, Grant Stapleton, Natasha Tere and Paula Kearns.

Current Life Members (alphabetical order): John Bray, Jim Campbell, John Coffey,  Ray Cranch, Frank Morris Endacott, Cathy Friend, Allen Gore, Ray Haffenden, Don Hammond, Peter Kerridge, Sir Peter Leitch, Bud Lisle, Trevor Maxwell, Cameron McGregor, Sel Pearson, Gerald Ryan, Cherie Steele-Shanks, Howie Tamati, Kevin Tamati.