22 March 2024


Ahi Kā Aotearoa team list:

  1. Amarnee Shepherd
  2. Monica Samita
  3. Paris Pickering
  4. Shaniah Lui
  5. Marewa Samson (CC)
  6. Tamara Ruaporo
  7. Pearl Tuitama
  8. Christabelle Onesemo-Tuilaepa
  9. Kyla Lynch-Brown
  10. Demielle Onesemo-Tuilaepa
  11. Sade Schaumkel
  12. Tiana Thomson
  13. Sharnyze Pihema (CC)
  14. Henilietta Lokotui
  15. Manea Waaka
  16. Madi Odering
  17. Monika Fakaosilea
  18. Michaela Poimatagi-Matautia
  19. Ella Bussey-Timo
  20. Kaya Whaitiri-Dee

NB: Jersey number does not correlate to position for all players, players will have the same jersey number throughout the entire tournament.


Ahi Kā Aotearoa 8 v  Northern Territory 6

Tries: #9 Kyla Lynch-Brown, #15 Manea Waaka


The Ahi Kā women came out firing straight from the kickoff with strong, physical defence and promising attacking drives.

They were quickly rewarded for their efforts at the five-minute mark when a Northern Territory error led to a full 6-tackle set from halfway up the field.

The set was successfully completed by spreading the ball through the right edge for winger #9 Kyla Lynch-Brown to score.

10 minutes later the strong and sizeable Northern Territory forward pack barged down the field finding the white line to equalise, followed by a successful conversion.

Another close attempt from Ahi Kā near the try line came just before halftime, but the Northern Territory defence did well to force an error setting the score at 4-6 in their favour at the half

Another strong start to the second half saw Ahi Kā build up excellent go-forward and momentum before the ball was shifted to the left edge and given through the hands for centre #15 Manea Waaka to score in the 25th minute.

The remainder of the half saw an intense back and forth as Northern Territory attempted to get points on the board, but Ahi Kā continuously fought hard with outstanding defence to keep them out and claim victory at full time.


Ahi Kā Aotearoa will face Western Australia tomorrow 23 March at 1:30pm NZT, watch the free livestream here.