23 March 2024


Ahi Kā Aotearoa team list:

  1. Amarnee Shepherd
  2. Monica Samita
  3. Paris Pickering
  4. Shaniah Lui
  5. Marewa Samson (CC)
  6. Tamara Ruaporo
  7. Pearl Tuitama
  8. Christabelle Onesemo-Tuilaepa
  9. Kyla Lynch-Brown
  10. Demielle Onesemo-Tuilaepa
  11. Sade Schaumkel
  12. Tiana Thomson
  13. Sharnyze Pihema (CC)
  14. Henilietta Lokotui
  15. Manea Waaka
  16. Madi Odering
  17. Monika Fakaosilea
  18. Michaela Poimatagi-Matautia
  19. Ella Bussey-Timo
  20. Kaya Whaitiri-Dee

NB: Jersey number does not correlate to position for all players, players will have the same jersey number throughout the entire tournament.


Ahi Kā Aotearoa 20 v  Western Australia 0

Tries: #15 Manea Waaka, #4 Shaniah Lui, #13 Sharnyze Pihema, #2 Monica Samita


Ahi Kā Aotearoa came out of the gates strong, scoring in their opening kickoff set. A Western Australia error allowed for an opportunity 20 metres out from the try line. Hooker #2 Monica Samita darted from dummy half, before spreading the ball left for winger #15 Manea Waaka to score her second try of the tournament.

The remainder of the half seesawed as both teams battled for an opportunity to score, Western Australia struggling with penalties and errors. The Aotearoa wāhine struck again just before the half, with a long cut-out pass from #9 Kyla Lynch-Brown to the left edge, which centre #4 Shaniah Lui expertly chipped then regathered to score.

With the score set at 8-0 to Ahi Kā at the break, the women did not lose momentum scoring only four minutes into the second half. Co-Captain and loose forward #13 Sharnyze Pihema made a barging run 15m down the right edge, ploughing through five Western Australia players to cross for a try.

Just over five minutes later a brilliant individual try was scored by fullback #1 Amarnee Shepherd when she gathered a lost ball just over halfway, before showing her excellent pace to beat all defenders as she sprinted over 40 metres to score.

The final try was scored in the dying seconds of the match by nifty hooker #2 Monica Samita. Five metres out from the try line she shot from dummy half, before dummying and beating three defenders to score her first try of the tournament.


Ahi Kā Aotearoa will play their final game in the Harvey Norman Women’s National Championship tomorrow 24 March at 1:30pm NZT. Watch the free livestream here.