31 March 2023

New Zealand Rugby League is pleased to announce the National U20s Pirtek competition team for 2023, with South Island Scorpions second-rower Te Kaio Cranwell earning National 20s Pirtek Competition MVP.

A standout in each game for the Scorpions, Cranwell has been instrumental in his side’s journey to the final. A large frame dominant on both sides of the ball, Cranwell has proved to be a handful for any side he has come up against.

Cranwell a lethal ball-runner, rose to prominence through the competition navigating his way to the try line in every game played. Cranwell’s partnership with Scorpions halfback Caleb Murphy contributed to South Island’s success through the Ruben Wiki Cup. Cranwell led from the front as South Island advanced to the final as the only undefeated team.

Te Kaio Cranwell is joined by an extremely talented pool of players, including fellow teammates Caleb Murphy, Jameson Wellington and Sakiusa Lamanikava, along with Counties Manukau fullback Robin Herbert and Akarana hooker Khalan Clyde.


Congratulations to the following selected for the 2023 Pirtek Competition team:


  1. Robin Herbert (Counties Manukau Stingrays)
  2. Ariki Honetana (Akarana Falcons)
  3. Niu-linghi Peni (Counties Manukau Stingrays)
  4. Deijdre Siaki (South Island Scorpions)
  5. Toaiti Ramsay (Counties Manukau Stingrays)
  6. Felise Tau (Counties Manukau Stingrays)
  7. Caleb Murphy (South Island Scorpions)
  8. Jaedon Wellington (South Island Scorpions)
  9. Khalan Clyde (Akarana Falcons)
  10. Portman Paul (Waikato Mana)
  11. Te Kaio Cranwell (South Island Scorpions)
  12. Sakiusa Lomanikaya (South Island Scorpions)
  13. Daniel Smith (Akarana Falcons)


Ruben Wiki Cup competition MVP: Te Kaio Cranwell (South Island Scorpions)