24 March 2022


2022 sees the return of the Sky Sport Women’s Premiership after a year hiatus, being replaced in 2021 by the wider National Women’s Competition due to Covid-19 restrictions. 


The premier Women’s rugby league competition kicks off on the 26th of March. Canterbury, the winners of last year’s National Women’s Competition, go up against reigning Women’s Premiership champions Counties Manukau, who are looking to win their 12th straight premiership title in a row. Akarana takes on the Mid Central Vipers on the 27th, with both games being held at Auckland’s Trust stadium.  


Those with a My Vaccine Pass are encouraged to attend the first round of the Women’s Premiership this weekend, with all vaccine restrictions set to lift on April 4.  


Last competition saw the arrival of many Kiwi Ferns who earnt their Black and White jersey plying their trade in the 2020 Premiership. Stars such as Karli Hansen, Autumn-Rain Stephens-Daly and Katelyn Vaha’akolo used the competition as a springboard for their careers and are now playing professionally in the NRLW. 


This year, the competition has been scheduled to coincide with the NRLW season, giving players unable to relocate to Australia a chance to claim a Kiwi Fern’s opportunity. 


Teams will compete in a round-robin competition taking place over three weeks. The top two placed teams at the end of the round-robin will then face off in the final, which will be held at Mt Smart Stadium on the 16th of April. 


All games will be broadcast live on Sky Sport 4.