National Secondary Schools

Home | History | News | Draw/results | Teams | Forms | Referees | Guides| Ladders | Stats



Kelston Boys High School have overpowered archrivals St Paul's 20-10 to retain their grip on the NZRL National Secondary Schools crown for another year.

The two sides had emerged as expected finalists after a tough week of competition at Papakura and many probably expected another classic encounter between them.

Last month, they had battled to a standstill in the Auckland college final, with Kelston victorious.

But they never allowed St Paul's into this contest, running in four tries for a 20-0 halftime advantage. Winger Junior Pauga had a hat-trick of tries in a game-winning performance that earned him Most Valuable Player honours.

With such a wide margin in their favour, Kelson only needed to defend adequately through the final 25 minutes and although St Paul's managed two tries, they could not swing momentum sufficiently to mount a full comeback.

Meanwhile, three second-half tries have carried Papatoetoe High School to victory over Wesley College in the earlier development final.

Bringing many of their renowned rugby union skills across to the 13-a-side code, Wesley had been a popular team all week and enjoyed the support of their schoolmates for the big game.

But Papatoetoe scored first and although they trailled 12-10 at halftime, they proved the more consistent down the stretch, running in two converted tries after the break to seize control of the contest.

Wesley closed to within a converted try in the dying stages, but big second row Vili Kaufonoga crashed over from dummy half to clinch the result.

Papatoetoe fullback Kelepi Holi was awarded the Simon Mannering Medal as Most Valuable Player of the final.

At the end of the tournament, the following players were named in a New Zealand team to teka on New South Wales Combined High Schools at Westlake Boys High School on September 23:

Tise Aivalu (Manurewa HS), Erin Clark (Manurewa HS), Beau Cordtz (St Paul's College), Zion Ioka (Kelston BHS), Charlie Kaipati (Kelston BHS), Nic Lui-toso (Kelston BHS), James Mafi (Kelston BHS), Tyler Mohi (Aorere College), Brandon Nangaiti (Otahuhu College), Junior Pauga (Kelston BHS), Reuben Porter (Mt Albert Grammar), Peter Scanlan (Keltson BHS), Lewis Soosemea (Aorere College), Cyrus Timo-Latu (Aranui HS), Scott Tofa-Timoteo (St Paul's College), Viliami Tosi (Rotorua BHS), David Tuisane (Manurewa HS), Eddie Wolf (Kelston BHS)


Final Placings

1  Kelston BHS

2 St Paul's College

3  Aorere College

4  Manurewa HS

5  Otahuhu College

6  Southern Cross Campus

7  Rotorua BHS

8  Tokoroa HS

9  Mt Albert Grammar

10 Westlake BHS

11 Western Springs College

12 Papakura HS

13 Papatoetoe HS (Plate winners)

14 Wesley College

15 Aranui HS

16 Northcote College

17 Francis Douglas Memorial College

18 Mt Roskill Grammar

19 Whangarei BHS

20 Greymouth HIS

21 One Tree Hill College

22 Pakuranga College

23 Rosehill College

24 Taita College



GATGIM_LogoNZ Rugby League would like to acknowledge and thank our official youth development partners - The Skills Organisation & Competenz ("Got a Trade? Got it Made!") and the Vodafone Warriors - working together to provide a bright future for our young talent, on and off the field.

Home | History | News | Draw/results | Teams | Forms | Referees | Guides| Ladders | Stats





Skills_Wordmark_Black_Hi Res

Papakura-LB-Logo Warriors-Logo Its-Not-Ok-Logo
Watties-Logo AKC-Logo EBOS Sport
Papakura-Logo CMS-Logo NZSSC-Logo